

January 25, 2023 SARANAC LAKE FREE LIBRARY ANNUAL ASSOCIATION MEMBERSHIP MEETING Zoom Format

Trustees Present:

Mike Beccaria , President-elect Cheryl Joyce, Vice-President-elect Christina Lawrence, Treasurer-elect Beryl Szwed, Secretary-elect Lynn Fisher Kemp Glenn Pareira III Jake Widrick, Library Director Wendy Austin Angela Bates McKenzie Davidson Jessica Jakobe Melissa Kline Jason Brill Peter Benson

Amy Richardson-President David Staszak Tiffany Van Etten Aurora Wheeler-Pfaff Kelly Linehan Peggy Orman

Meeting Call to Order:President Amy Richardson called the meeting to order at
4:30 pm

Welcome and Board Introductions: Amy introduced the current members of the Board of Trustees

Approval of the Agenda:Motion to approve made by Glenn Pareira, second by Angela
Bates. The motion passed.

Approval of the Minutes of the January 26, 2022 Annual Meeting: Motion to approve by Mike Beccaria, second by Kelly Linehan. Motion passed.

Annual Report of Library Director: Jake Widrick presented a written report (attached), highlighting the new programs and weekly events added in 2022 including collaboration with local organizations, an increase in circulation by 10%, and the return of the Book Fair.

Report on the 2023 Approved Budget: A summary of the 2023 Budget was given.

Thank Out-going Board of Trustee Members: Amy and the entire Board expressed their gratitude to the outgoing Trustees. Lynn Fisher Kemp served all three years of her term as Treasurer and Finance Committee Chair.

Melissa Kline served on both Buildings & Grounds and Governance committees throughout her term.

Kelly Linehan served on the Governance committee, overseeing Board performance.

Glenn Pareira III joined the Board in 2018, was President from 2019-2021, and chaired the Governance Committee.

Voting for Proposed New Officers: Each nominee's name was introduced as a motion and voted into office in the following actions:

Mike Beccaria, President-motion made by Jesse Jakobe, second by Angela Bates, motion passed

- Cheryl Joyce, Vice President- motion made by Lynn Fisher Kemp, second by Angie, motion passed
- Christina Lawrence, Treasurer-motion made by Angie, second by Cheryl, motion passed
- Beryl Szwed, Secretary-motion made by Lynn, second by Cheryl, motion passed

Voting for proposed new Board of Trustees Members: Each nominee's name was introduced as a motion and voted into office in the following actions:

Wendy Austin-motion made by Kelly Linehan, second by Jesse, motion passed

MacKenzie Davison-motion made by Mike Beccaria, second by Cheryl, motion passed

Aurora Wheeler Pfaff-motion made by Beryl Szwed, second by Amy Richardson, motion passed

Other Business: None

Motion to Adjourn: Cheryl moved to adjourn the Annual Meeting, second by Angela. Motion passed. Meeting was adjourned at 4:54 pm.